Visitors can view this historic building which features a beautiful vaulted ceiling in the main Temple. Learn more about the history of the Alston Lodge, how the building came into the hands of the Freemasons and the fascinating history of Freemasonry.
This building has stood on this site since the 1600’s although there is little detail of its construction on record, or in fact what purpose it was built for. It is believed that it was a coaching house that served stage coach runs from London. Alston Masonic Lodge was formed in the year 1900. Meetings were originally held on the site of the Globe Rooms on Front Street (now the Fish & Chip shop). The building used to be attached to a coaching house and you can still see the arch where the horses would have been stabled.
10am – 2pm daily.
Closed on 22nd.
Visits can be arranged out of hours via the contact details below. Lodge members will be in attendance to answer questions.
The Lodge is best accessed via the alley that runs alongside Mad Hatters hardware store at the bottom of Front Street. It is on the left hand side approximately 50 meters along.
A ramp is available that allows for off street access (please call in advance to arrange).
A stair-lift give access to the first floor
There are disabled parking bays by the Town Hall – approx. 100 metres from the Lodge.
Norman English: 07767 – 462247 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org